PM, ministers come under tax net as bill passed

The Daily Star May 30, 2012

Jatiya Sangsad yesterday passed two bills repealing provisions that exempted the prime minister, ministers, state ministers, and deputy ministers from paying taxes on their salaries for over three decades.

Now, their salaries from July 1 last year would be taxable.

On February 29, two other bills were passed scrapping “discriminatory” provisions from two laws that exempted the Speaker, deputy speaker and MPs from paying taxes on their remunerations.

The ruling Awami League in its manifesto, amended in July, 2009, had stated that there would be no “discriminatory” laws between lawmaker and citizens of Bangladesh.

However, provisions allowing all legislators to import duty-free cars remain. The benefits for all lawmakers, including the prime minister, the speaker, and ministers, were introduced during HM Ershad’s regime on May 24, 1987.

Agriculture Minister Matia Chowdhury, in-charge of the cabinet division on parliamentary business, had proposed passage of the two bills to amend the Prime Minister’s (Remuneration and Privileges) Act, 1975 and Ministers, Ministers of State and Deputy Minister (Remuneration and Privileges) Act, 1973 to this effect.